The Paulins Kill Watershed covers an area of 176.85 square miles through Warren and Sussex Counties in the following communities: Knowlton, Columbia, Blairstown, Hardwick, Marksboro, Frelinghuysen, Stillwater, Fredon, Newton, Hampton, Balesville, Branchville, Augusta, Lafayette and Sparta. The river flows north from its source near Newton, and then turns southwest. The Paulins Kill is New Jersey’s third-largest tributary of the Delaware River, behind the Musconetcong River and Maurice River.

Map of total area of watershed
Paulins Kill River Watershed Area
Focus Area for Remediation Efforts